#211 There is something to be said about just being a foot solider

After finishing the main story arc of the Kirin Tor Offensive with Jiana Proundmoore, Vereesa Windrunnerand the forces of the Alliance pushing  into the Thunder King’s kingdom, I finally was able to look back and see how burned out I was on the while island experience. The gloomy weather, the never-ending trolls and mogus, and the layers upon layers of dailies. Most of all I was burnt out on the idea of being sent out on my own to clear out enemies and being asked to kill the same constantly re-spawning generals.

In order to stop me from being completely burned out of WoW completely I decided to head back to the main land for a change of pace.

 

shame too, since I was that close to exhausted.

shame too, since I was that close to exhausted.

 

I needed something different, did not want to act as a seasoned veteran burdened with the responsibility of keeping the camp site safe? Why working as a foot solider for people who has no trust in you of course! For that special type of experience, I enlisted in the forces of the Klaxxi and their still on going fight against the Empress.

There is something to  be said about being just a peon for some higher ranking member or just a gofer for a bunch of farmers that you are trying to impress. I enjoyed the play time, when my daily quest load consisted of clearing out the local wildlife and collecting various items, with the occasional ride in the Klaxxis suped-up battle bruiser and never being asked to do more.

 

yippie ki-yay ....

yippie ki-yay mother….

 

It is refreshing change in an MMO, to be not THE hero of your faction, but just a member of society, a civilian  It really changes your view about how important you are to different individuals. It also adds variety to the game when you are not the only one on the task force that can do the job.

I hope that blizzard game developers keeps this idea in mind of not always asking the players being high-ranking members in all the Horde or Alliance when creating content for patch 5.3 and for the rest of Mists of Pandaria. Even though we are playing it, it would be nice to have someone else do the heavy lifting once in a while.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the Mists of Pandaria expansion of World of Warcraft with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the game’s life cycle. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “#211 There is something to be said about just being a foot solider

  1. I dunno if this is a general Thing on the internet or what, but people I know will use ^ to point to a statement immediately above in chat that they agree with. The more ^, the more agreement. So:

    “The gloomy weather, the never-ending trolls and mogus, and the layers upon layers of dailies. Most of all I was burnt out on the idea of being sent out on my own to clear out enemies and being asked to kill the same constantly re-spawning generals.”

    ^^^^^^

  2. I agree completely. I admire you going at it for as long as you did… I’m really good with dailies but with these, I gave up on day 3. Never. Ending.

Leave a Reply

