#186 Canary Nelf, I choose you!

This week was one of my calmer weeks, allowing me to play a bit more World of Warcraft than usual, the result was that I was able to pick up my druid, run a few more dungeons and get her to level 88.

Apparently there’s an unexpected jump in ilvl requirement between the 85-87 dungeons and the 88-90 dungeons that, despite getting all my gear from dungeons, I did not meet. A quick jump into the Valley of the Four Winds killing virmen and chasing pigs got me to the proper gear which opened up the much-longer-than-I-remembered Mogu’shan Palace and Shado-Pan Monastery.

It is only the second play through where you notice the little things

It is only the second play through where you notice the little things

Recently I started to feel a bit of a dungeon burn-out, always the same couple of instances, with the same boss fights and the same type of DPS who are just doing the minimum requirements, but I was determined to get over this slump while not giving up tanking and the perk of jumping to the front of the queue and I was not going to start healing any time soon.

To save myself from the madness of LFG  I decided to use to a distraction technique that I used to get this same druid to 80 in preparation of the Mists expansionwatching videos and movies from my childhood to keep my mind off the of the repetition of grinding dungeons.

Over the summer I watched all of the Batman movies (from 1989′s Batman to The Dark Knight) during the druid-dungeon grind with great success and I would gladly go back to those movies if I did not just finished a huge Batman binge that started with the Batman Animated Series and ended with the wonderful two-parter movie The Dark Knight Returns.

If you consider yourself a Batman fan you need to see this epic story. It has literaly changed how Batman was perceived from in the public eye

If you consider yourself a Batman fan you need to see this epic story. It single-handedly changed how Batman was perceived from in the public eye

That left me all batman-out so instead I have to go back deeper into my childhood, something that caught my young geeky interest way before Batman, something that has inspired me ….to be the best. Like no one ever was….

That’s right this time around I’m using Pokemon, to help me get over the last two level hump and it just so happens to I have recently received this beauty:

Sweet Arceus....

Sweet Arceus….

This is the result of a survey where the Pokemon asked their fans for their top ten favorite Pokemon and then retrieved the best episodes that starred the fan’s favorites and put them into one (pocket) monstrous collection.

It boasts that it has eleven hours of episodes which -I Hope- will be enough to get my little canary nelf to max level…again.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#186 Canary Nelf, I choose you!

  1. aqusinna

    I want to comment on this sentence:

    “with the same boss fights and the same type of DPS who are just doing the minimum requirements”

    Interesting addition to ths conversation was a run thru Shadowfang keep with my level 16 pally. I was tanking, Hunter, Pally, Monk dpsing and a disc priest healing. Hunter had his pet taunting the whole instance and the Pally was running ahead chain pulling, If you have ever run with me you would know I don’t go slowly thru dungeons so cain pulling infront of me basicly means you are just running blindly and not dpsing anything.

    In the end I was ~45% of the dps and the monk was another 45%…thats 90% the Healer did about 5%. What I am getting at is that there were two people in the group basicly griefing us…doing almost no dps just making things harder.

    I look at dungeons like that as a chalange…but man… somethimes I wonder… can people really be that clueless?

Leave a Reply

