#179 Not acting like a lunatic about the Lunar Festival

It is the end of January and the beginning of February and that means it is time to break out the fireworks, dumplings. and our silk robes for Warcraft’s Lunar Festival!

 

WoWScrnShot_020613_120826

Out of all of the Holidays of the year, the Lunar Festival seems the most fitting for Pandaria

If it was not for the various other third-party Warcraft sites and blogs this whole event might have just pass me by. I used to be a giant fan of the Holiday events but after earning my What a Long, Strange Trip It’s Been meta-meta achievement two years ago and grabbing all the mounts and pets added last year I’m just not motivated to participate,  It is the same reason why I have not visited the Darkmoon Faire since the beginning of the expansion, there is nothing there to motivate me to go.

At the end of the last expansion I saved up all my Darkmoon Prize Ticket and bought the two mounts (the Swift Forest Strider and the Darkmoon Dancing Bear), after that moment of buying them my interest in being shot out of a cannon and throwing rings on turtle dropped to zero, the pets or the transmog gear. were still there, but I did not feel the need to go through the hassle of buying them.  The same thing applies to the Lunar Festival, already getting all getting To Honor One’s Elders and buying the lunar lamp from last year, there is no incentive for me to travel all over the world and every dungeon to revisit the elders.

Yes I am aware that of the XP buff from the Dark Moon Carnival and from visiting the Elders and I am doing it on my work-in-progress-druid but I’ll only be visiting the faire for the carousel  and paying my respects to the easy to get to Elders.

You can't tell, but I am extremely happy from riding the Darkmoon merry-go-round

You can’t tell, but I am extremely happy from riding the Darkmoon merry-go-round

I will say it is liberating to know that I, a major collector, don’t feel like this time around I am compelled to go out of my way from my daily gameplay to partake in these mini-games to grab an exclusive mount and I wonder if Blizzard is finally done tinkering all the holiday events for a while.

I will tip my hat to Blizzard for not scheduling the Lunar Festival, Dark Moon Faire AND Love is in the Air event during the same week, last year was just painful.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the Mists of Pandaria expansion of World of Warcraft with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the game’s life cycle. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “#179 Not acting like a lunatic about the Lunar Festival

  1. I did the intor quests, killed the quest boss, shot off some fireworks and went back to my farm.

  2. I agree about DMF – did the dailies once and realised I couldn’t be bothered adding a 5th to my daily grinding. I did the Lunar (it was my first year) just for the title, but can’t say I particularly enjoyed it..!

  3. I look at Holiday Quest givers, look at the mount from the long strange trip achievement… and then throw my hands in the air and walk away. I don’t know why I’m so anti holiday cheer. Pirate Day is the best. Go talk to someone and turn into a pirate. Simple!!
    One day I’ll get around to it… one day… in the distant future… when I have nothing else to do!

    Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

