#163 Walking Down Memory Lane

Last night I decided to visit the deepest parts of Molten Core for a mix fun and hunting for pets and transmogable gear.

BY FIRE BE PURGED!

BY FIRE BE PURGED!

As I was running a one man attack on the Fire Lord’s first strong hold, I could not help but to remember some of the odd choices Blizzard implemented during the early years of World of Warcraft that was there not for the sake of the gameplay, but for the sake of the story and lore of the world, which left many of the players confused and frustrated.

The first odd choice that came to my mind, because I was a fire mage running through Molten Core, was to give dragons and  fire elementals immunity to the player’s fire spells in vanilla. I leveled my mage with the fire spec since day one and never stepping into an instance along the way my first encounter with this game choice was when I was running Onyxia and Molten Core with friends when the raids were obsolete and we out leveled the bosses.

I was caught off guard once I ran into the first mob in Molten Core. Here I am, a spell caster that specializes in fire damage, being completely useless in the boss fights, I was reduced to spamming Frostbolt like some lowly PvP Frost mage throughout the rest of the run.

I was so glad that they removed the immunity when patch 4.2 was announced

I was so glad that they removed the immunity when patch 4.2 was announced

The other oldie, but goodie was the lack of raid wide buffs. Luckily I joined WoW towards the later half of the Burning Crusade, so I was spared this horror in raids. But I did hear stories from older mages who had to work through the pain of applying and reapplying the Arcane Intellect buff to every single raider throughout the night, the paladins had the worst of it with two different buffs that lasted 5 minute. After hearing those horror stories every time I  thank the unnamed game developer who created the spell Arcane Brilliance.

And then there’s the racial mounts restrictions, this had to be the oddest game choice in the history of Warcraft. I could not even begin to comprehend why did Blizzard thought it was a good idea to give players restrictions on what mounts they can have access to based on what race they played.

Back when I played the Horde, I had a friend who played a Tauren and we had many conversions about how she could not ride the Forsaken’s Skeletal Horses, the Troll’s Raptors or the Blood Elves’s Hawkstriders, always joking how the Blizzard thought that she might break the backs of those digital animals. I could almost see the reasoning behind the Mechanostriders since they were built by gnomes for gnomes but it something needed to be said when a playable race could not use 60% of their faction’s highest rewards. This was corrected in patch 3.0.8, much to the delight of my horde friend.

Thankfully Blizzard learned the one of the most important unspoken rules of the video game genera, to never put the game’s story and world in front of  game-play. Once they realized that the Blizzard team were off making more player friendly features like LFG and Real IDs that would break the immersion Azeroth but help the game improve overall.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the Mists of Pandaria expansion of World of Warcraft with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the game’s life cycle. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

