#104 Bidding adieu to the soon to be dead spells

It was heavily hinted yesterday that the pre-expansion patch, 5.0.4, will go live on August 28th.

Patch 5.0.4 will herald the new account wide mounts system, the class changes and the overhaul of the talent trees.

I still don’t know how I feel about the new trees

 

With everything new that is coming in, sadly there are somethings that are being removed with this patch.

As a fire mage there are two very important mage spells that will be taken out come two Tuesdays from now.

I am of course, talking about the spells Blast Wave and Flame Orb.

The sting hurts because those two were my favorite fire spells and will sorely be missed.  If you don’t mind, I would like to say a few words for the soon to be lost.

The Blast Wave was an old friend of mine, he was useful when farming old content for rep and gold in instances. The spell was especially helpful with the Improved Flamestrike talent, giving me a free Flamestrike on top of the Blast Wave.

 

Although props to Blizzard for keeping the cool looking spell in the game.

 

Flame Orb is the next one on the chopping block. Even though it was one of the newer spells, only added in this expansion, it found a way to be used it for Raids. I could always count on it to dish out addition damage to the boss while I needed to got off either casting Evocation or focusing my efforts on an add or two. From now on I’ll have to resort to the nerfed Mirror Images to increase my damage.

 

Thanks to WoWhead for this amazing photo

 

 

I will be sorry for their passing, but I know that these spells will be in a better place when Mists hits, they will be right up there with my old Wrath buddy, FrostFire spec.

 

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the lead up to the next World of Warcraft expansion with my own reflections about the last dying moments of the Catalysm’s Twilight Hour as we look into the Mists of the new day. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

