#98 Shared Topic: Custom-Fit Professions

 

This week’s Blog Azeroth’s Shared Topic is:

Professions are fun for some and a necessary evil for others.

Some of us have farming professions. Some of us have crafting professions. Some of us have a little bit of everything! Professions are leveled because they fit our style of play, help us in raiding, allow us to outfit our alts, and make us money.

What professions do you have on your main? Do his/her professions fit their personality? Why did you choose them? If you chose professions based on your character and not on gaming needs, would that change some of their professions they use?

On my main mage I have the Tailoring and Skinning profession.

All maxed out professions because I’m hardcore like that

An odd combination I know but there is a story behind it.

Flashback to the year 2007,  I was just started playing this new Warcraft game my friend recommended to me.

As I was experiencing the new world as an undead, when my friend told be to get a profession for my mage.

 

This is one of the earliest screenshots i have of my mage before level 70 (Max level at the time)

So me, being the noob that I am was I went to the first two profession trainers I found and I ended up being an skinning-alchemist. Soon I was told by my friend that I had made a poor choice since I couldn’t make anything I gathered and I couldn’t gather anything that I could make.

I was convinced to give up Alchemy for Tailoring, because I would be able to use the items I created and Skinning offers a nice bit of gold.

Years later I still kept the same combination, and as I mention in my monday post, I still use my accidental profession choice as a major gold income (plus the extra crit really helps in raids).

 

If I was to change my Draenei mage’s profession I would probability make him a Tailor and Enchanter because magic goes well with mage. but if I ever did that my enchanting skill would permanently stay in the low levels because I hate going back to old content and getting the goods that I can’t use at max level.

 

As anyone who ready my previous posts that took me three years to get one of my alts past level 40.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the lead up to the next World of Warcraft expansion with my own reflections about the last dying moments of the Catalysm’s Twilight Hour as we look into the Mists of the new day. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “#98 Shared Topic: Custom-Fit Professions

  1. Areswarlord

    Part of the reason why I enjoy reading your blog is because you have very similar opinions and beginnings as myself.

    My first and favourite character is a Draenei Mage as well. For professions, I went for Inscription (and herbalism to support it). Inscription seemed like incredibly magical as you had to pour magic onto paper as glyphs. This requires both magical knowledge and power. A warrior scribe never makes sense to me for this reason. Later I swapped out Herbalism for Enchanting for the same reasons.
    (I put herbalism on my second character, druid, for similar reasons. It made sense for a druid to pick flowers.)

  2. Pingback: Shared Topic: Custom Fit Professions « Azerothian Life

  3. Pingback: Blog Azeroth: Mists of Pandaria Beta « Kor'kron 501st

  4. dangdangfool

    My first toon started immediately after BC release. I didn’t hit max level until deep into WotLK.

    Now the leveling experience is so much faster and more fun. However, leveling a profession hasn’t gotten that much easier. At least I’m making better profession selections on new toons. I got lucky on that first one!

Leave a Reply

