#358 The Official Origin Story of my Steam Account

It is the end of the month of March and with this an important gaming milestone, my third anniversary of joining Steam.

A few months ago I was planning to write this post on the birthday BUT because of a touch of dyslexia I confused the 13 for a 31, which is why I am writing this post now.

A few months ago I was planning to write this post on the birthday BUT because of a touch of dyslexia I confused the 13th for a 31st, which is why I am writing this post now.

 

Since my three years of downloading Valve’s Steam 200+ games collection and hundreds and hundreds of hours of gameplay on record. With the celebration I thought now would be a good time to spin the yarn and tell all of you how I started my adventures through  Steam.

It all started with my first Pax East back in 2o11. At the time my gaming experience was limited to World of Warcraft and just that. It was also the only game I played for years and because of my barebones laptop that I could afford on my early college student’s budget.

But going into this expo for the first time with my mother and younger brother just completed their amazing story with Uber Entertainment and one of our family’s pet chickens. It is a really long and epic read that you can catch it all on my mother’s blog found HERE, HEREHERE, and HERE.

The TLDR version is: It started with my brother asking a game developer for a few gaming keys for some friends who had a series of unfortunate events and it ended with one of our chickens starring in a video game.

 I would like to see anyone else try to top that story.

I would like to see anyone else try to top that story.

 

Well that series of events happened and while I was exploring alone on the expo floor I stumbled upon Uber Entertainment’s booth. dispite knowing nothing about the game Super Monday Night combat, beyond the fact of my brother’s excitement to be a part of it, and being a good older brother I bought a digital key  for the game, and if memory served I bought the deluxe key with an exclusive Penny Arcade inspired Cardboard Tube Samurai skin for the assassin character in the game.

A common practice back in the day. Image from: http://mondaynightcombat.wikia.com/

One of my favorite skins in videogames.
Image from: http://mondaynightcombat.wikia.com/

 

After the everything was done and I was back home I followed the instructions on the card and in order for me to redeem and play this game I needed to download and install the steam client. Granted I did not play much of it because my barebones laptop started to overheat the moment the game asked it to run the game in a frame rate above single digits.

From there it is just history, I want to take this time to say thank you to PAX East, Uber Entertainment, and my little brother for opening of the gateway to a brand new world of PC gaming full of free games, charity driven bundles, and some of the biggest discounts in major AAA game titles I have ever seen.

 

Here's to many more great years of gaming

Here’s to many more years of great gaming

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#358 The Official Origin Story of my Steam Account

  1. I’m also very well vested in Steam at this point, and when the thought sometimes nudges my brain about the “what if” possibility of losing my account or Steam shutting down, I have a split second heart-attack and resolve to never think of it again. Scary thought, that.

Leave a Reply

