#341 Grinding my way to a Completed Pokedex

I mentioned last time I talked about Pokemon XY I said how I wanted to try my hand at completing the this game’s regional Pokedex as a part of the game’s post game activities after beating the traditional elite four.

I have only completed one other game’s  regional Pokedex, it was back in Pokemon Emerald and I did it get one of the Hoenn starters as a not so secret Easter Egg for completing it. I decided to do this now as a one part challenge but also trying to relive that part of my childhood.

gold-and-silver-starters

Before you asked I picked Chikorita, Grass starters all the way & FTW.

 

As I was making my way through this self-appointed challenge I noticed that hunting in the tall grass, running back and forth from the Pokemon Daycare, and spending hours grinding levels with the Exp.  Share struck the perfect balance between mindless time sink and endorphin triggering rewards from the activities that encouraged me continue on this (some might say pointless) quest.

I mentioned before with other games but this is another great example of Skinner Box being implemented into the game,  with constant grinding but the random reward of finding that one Pokemon you have been looking for the past half hour.

It's almost as if Pokemon and Nintendo has spent years developing the perfect balance of work/reward to get people to continue to play their games.

It’s almost as if Pokemon and Nintendo has spent years developing the perfect balance of work/reward to get people to continue to play their games.

 

Ever since I stopped playing World of Warcraft I have been missing a game that I can just sink hours into for just mindless grinding gameplay. While the randomly generated dungeon crawler, Binding of Isaac, was there to help scratch hat itch as  great substitute for the WoW reputation grind I started to feel the burn out from Bind of Isaac set in too. Because lets be frank here, there is only so many times you can defeat the Blue Baby before the thrill of the accomplishment goes away. Thank goodness for Pokemon for filing in that empty space.

What is great is that because Pokemon is on it is on its own separate screen I have been able to catch up on movies, my television shows, and even my favorite gaming streams while still catching them all.

Currently I am little more than a third done with my Kalos  Pokedex and I am interested to see how far the reward from finding that one rare will go once I need to start breeding and grinding the other hundred or so Pokemons.

***

Also I want to take this time to shake my walking stick at how easy kids has it today. With these recent Pokemon games being able to connect to the internet to find and trade the Pokemon they want for their set. Back in my day we did not have any fancy schmancy Wi Fi enabled handheld devices.

If we needed a Pokemon to complete our Pokedex we had to actually talk to people and bargain with them face to face. Once that was done and we found an acceptable trade we had to trade pokemons by way of link cables….AND WE LIKED IT.

Although I do like the Fennekin that I was only able to get after using my smart phone to send out a tweet, asking if anyone had an extra that they could trade me through the Friend Code trading system.

Although I do like the Fennekin that I was only able to get after using my smart phone to send out a tweet, asking if anyone had an extra that they could trade me through the Friend Code trading system.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “#341 Grinding my way to a Completed Pokedex

  1. Hah, I would steal my brother’s Gameboy and use the link cable between the two. No talking to people necessary!

  2. Yea the GTS and wonder trading are so convenient! So much better than those old school link cables.

    • Of course, I love how I can send excess pokemons off to the internet and either get something I want from the GTS or something completely random Pokemon can get from the wondertrade service

Leave a Reply

