#338 Feeling betrayed by the Bat-Team

Last week I finally downloaded Batman: Arkham Origins (as a part of my Steam Backlog challenge) and started to sink a good few hours into the story campaign.

Then the news broke that the game developers announced that they are spending their time on creating the story for future DLC story mode instead of fixing the bugs in the original game right now. This is following the news that they are pulling support for all future DLC for the WiiU even after selling season pass on that platform

I wrote about the Bat team’s policy on DLC earlier when they revealed the contents of their Arkham Origins season pass (Be MOP #280) and how I promised myself not to buy any of the DLC for Batman this time around

Besides that I have been playing the basic version of Arkham Origins and I was enjoying the experience, just like everyone else has been saying, the game does feel like Arkham City DLC. It is the same set of weapons, enemies, and environment there was nothing new that wowed me like the first time I climbed up my first building in Arkham City and seeing the city unfold after being stuck in a claustrophobic asylum throughout the entirety of the last game.

 I can't even complain about the fully upgraded gadget belt because it is still better than going through the process of getting all your gadgets back even though this takes place before the first game.

I can’t complain about the fully stocked and upgraded gadget belt because it is better getting them off the bat than going through the process of getting all your gadgets again even if this story takes place before the first game.

If I was to come up with a new proper complaint for the game I do not like how Batman makes his first encounter with The Riddler, Killer Croc, The Joker, AND the Mad Hatter all in one night and on Christmas Eve no less. It comes off a case of lazy writing.

They could have added a little bit of dialogue of The Riddler stating that this was their second encounter and this time he has a major plan that he could not solve in time. Boom there that could explain why Riddler goes to all the effort of making hundreds of collectibles in this game

They could have added a little bit of dialogue of The Riddler stating that this was their second encounter and this time he has a major plan that he could not solve in time. Boom! That could explain why E. Nigma goes to all the effort of making hundreds of collectibles in this game.

But this game smells of a corporate cash from the first time I launched the game. The flags started to fly when the DLC store was on the main menu and the exclusive Batman armor you can get if you sign up for the WB mailing list but those two additions were benign at best. Arkham Origins is still a good solid -although now standard- Batman game that I can still enjoy but this recent news about them focusing on the DLC over fixing the current game has almost made me change my opinion on the entire game.

Looking back we should have seen the warning signs in Arkham City with the multiple DLC (and introducing Robin in the story mode for one scene just to justify the Robin DLC ) and the cosmetic skins you can get from preordering the game at specific game stores or buying the DVD copy of The Green Lantern.

I think the exclusive Sinestro Corp Batman Suit can be thanked for the majority of the sales of the dvd copy of this movie because I can tell you  the Green Lantern fans were not buying it

I think the exclusive Sinestro Corp Batman Suit can be thanked for the majority of the sales of the dvd because I can tell you the Green Lantern fans were not buying it

I never played or bought EA games so this was the first game where I felt scorned from the company when blatantly revealing their business practices of choosing to focus on their next sellable product rather than fixing the existing buggy and unpolished product. Now I face this moral question that I want to pass along to you:

Should I (or anyone) enjoy a game or product when the people responsible for product has a different set of views than my/your own?

And what about other forms of entertainment like movies or books? There are plenty of actors, screenwriters, and authors that have very polarizing opinions but still create decent to remarkable stories that can be enjoyed by everyone.

I’m interested in what you think, leave a comment below if you faced this question in your gaming life and what you conclusion did you come to.

  Find me on Google+ for updates on this blog

I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#338 Feeling betrayed by the Bat-Team

  1. Pingback: #342 Blizzard and Microtransactions (part II) | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

