#316 The Magic of the Steam Winter Sale

The Winter Steam Sales is in full swing with their standard sales and price cuts that have made Valve so famous and beloved by all PC players.

And with this is the time of year (summer too) where I my brothers, and I assume many other gamers cut their purse strings loose and buy the big games that have been sitting on our wishlist for the past few months without having to worry about being undercut by a sudden Steal sale in a few months. There is also extremely magical about buying an AAA game for just $5.

I've heard of so many people buying games at full price last week and they are kicking themselves in the wallet now.

I’ve heard of so many people buying games at full price last week and they are kicking themselves in the wallet now.

But I also I use this event as a time to go out and take a chance on games I never heard of or might be a bit hesitant about, an act I normally never do when the games are at their normal asking price.

For example, La-mulana? I heard nothing but good things about the game around the web and for Flash sale price of 1.99 how could I say no?

The Bridge, an indie 2d logic puzzle about physics and perspective that challenges your mind with stages that draws inspiration from Isaac Newton and MC Escher, looks amazing enough try out for just three dollars

Paranautical Activity, a game that is quoted in its description as the combination of “the classic FPS action of games like Doom and Quake, with the randomness and difficulty of modern roguelikes like Binding of Isaac and Spelunky” This game looks like it was made with me in mind.

This is the first early access game I bought into, lets hope it successes

I only found this game because it was one of the contender for Yesterday’s Community’s Choice poll

 

So far I have purchased five games from these sales, the three games I already mentioned, Bulletstorm and the sequel to one of the first PC indie games I ever played, Runner 2. All these games added to my and the Winter Sales are not even half over yet, I do not even want to think about what my wallet will look like at the end of the year.

I haven't been bothered to do any reserach but I have a theory that one of the critizems of Runner 1 is that there was no much of a plot

I haven’t been bothered to do any research but I have a theory that one of the criticism of Runner 1 is that there was not much of a plot. That is the only reason I could think on why the game developers added a crazy plot delivered by an over the top voice actor

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#316 The Magic of the Steam Winter Sale

  1. Such good sales, trying not to buy EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

