#295 Neocolonialism

As a Political Science science graduate, my academic skills are quite limited in the workforce but one place where politics can always be applied is on the internet politics may not be applied correctly but if you check any major news stories or popular forums politics always tends to crop up- but today I would like to take this time to talk about a new indie game that is all about the current state of politics, globalism, and the manipulation of nations but the super rich for personal greed.

 

This game helped me reach my one political game post per month quota.

This game helped me reach my one political game post per month quota.

 

Neocolonialism by Subaltern Games lets you play as a billionaire, with no morals or respect for other government’s integrity or their political system, that competes with fellow billionaires to buy votes in various countries, building mines and factories and opening trade routes with other nations you are in control you bought. The goal is to try to get the most money in your private bank account then anyone else at the end of the game.

It all takes place on an upside down world map because SYMBOLISM!

It all takes place on an upside down world map because SYMBOLISM!

 

As you might have guessed from the plot of the game the message is not as politically neutral as some other games (Bioshock I) but it is leagues ahead of the self referencing humor found in other indie games. If I was to guess, this game is  a reaction to the 2008 banking crisis and the recent spotlight shown on the amount of money funneled into politics, but that’s just my interpretation.

The game is a turn based strategy with twelve turns and each turn is divided into two phases. The first phase lets you buy or sell seats in the Legislative Branch in each region of the world  and the other phase is where you elect players to the position of Prime Minister, propose the construction of a new mine, factory, or creating a new trade route.

Either by design or by indie-game limitation the game has a really harsh and technical UI but navigating through the information and lines on the screen is simple enough once you know the key legend.

a quick trip through the tutorial levels gives you all the information you need

a quick trip through the tutorial levels gives you all the information you need to get started

 

I am not a big player of Turn-based Strategy outside of Pokemon so I have no authority to say how well the AI and board are built, but I can say that the few games I did play I lost all of them. So take that as you will.

I guess this is an indication that I'll never make it big as a Super Pac manager or as a ruthless lobbyist.

I guess this is an indication that I’ll never make it big as a Super Pac manager or as a ruthless lobbyist….dang

 

I believe that this game has a very niche demographic, mostly the turn based strategy crowd and the gamers who finds politics interesting but if you are in those two groups and you are currently looking for a new game, Neocolonialism was made for you.

As I said before the game is launching this week for $10.00 and can be bought through Subaltern Game’s website, through Amazon, and it is currently on Steam’s Green Light program right now.

Funny enough this was the perfect week to launch a game about politics because not only is Guy Fawkes day celebrated this Tuesday but there are some local elections being held all around the U.S on the same day.

I could not imagine a more perfect time to fight against an unwanted direction of your government than right now. Happy election day everyone

I could not imagine a more perfect time to fight against the unwanted direction that your government taking than right now. 

 

To those participating in elections tomorrow, I hope you have a wonderful Election Day

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#295 Neocolonialism

  1. Pingback: #343 Taking Indie Games on the go | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

