#117 Preparing for Pandaria: My game plan for leveling

As of right now, Pandaria is only eleven days away from being available to the public, I talked before about my plan for selling all of my leather and other level eighty-five materials (Be MOP #97) and I talked about what I might be doing for the Raid Finder when I get to max level (Be MOP #111)  but I have not really given any thought about how I am going to get from level eight-five to ninety.

In Warth I tried to dabble in dungeon runs before I reached max level (this was before the implication of the LFG feature) I ended up losing more playing time because  we were constantly looking for members who would leave mid-dungeon runs. Needless to say I soon got frustrated with the whole dungeon experience until the glorious 3.3.0 patch.

So many runs here simply because it was the instance that everyone had no problem getting to.

In Cataclysm I leveled exclusively on the quests, focusing on the advancements in the lore and in the questing game mechanics rather than the repetitive dungeon runs that I experienced in the 5 mans.

As a result I completed most of the quests achievements before moving to the next area.

 

I hit level 85 on 12/15

 

For leveling in Pandaria , I think I have recovered from the horrible Warth’s dungeon experience that I might allow myself a few runs of the new dungeons, but my primary focus on this leveling adventure is to experience the quests and story that unfolds.

I only have a few weeks to properly consume the quests that depicts the escalated war and the new island at the appropriate level. I have the rest of the expansion’s life span to run through the dungeons to get the best gear.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the lead up to the next World of Warcraft expansion with my own reflections about the last dying moments of the Catalysm’s Twilight Hour as we look into the Mists of the new day. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “#117 Preparing for Pandaria: My game plan for leveling

  1. aqusinna

    “I only have a few weeks to properly consume the quests that depicts the escalated war and the new island at the appropriate level. I have the rest of the expansion’s life span to run through the dungeons”

    Quoting for reference, one of the most enjoyable times I had in Cata was running dungeons before they were nerfed. I loved actually being chalanged… from what I saw in the MoP beta I am not sure I will get the same enjoyment this time around.

    I am not going to lie, I am seriously debating a delay in leveling AQ…possibly a new monk from 1-90 before leveling the druid. Although, only time will tell.

    • I do miss the challenge of the dungeon runs (one part’s the nerf blizzard gave and the other part is because I out geared it) I think I’ll run the dungeons when I complete the quests that leads up to it.

      As or the Panda alt, DO IT! the Pandarians race might give me motivation to level another alt.

      • aqusinna

        you miss read me, i’m not really motivated by the Pandarian race, more by the monk class. I was planning on a NE monk simply because I like the animations the best.

Leave a Reply

