#70 Mount Catch up

Coming back from Pokemon week, as expected, there was some Mist of Pandaria news that was datamined from the beta.

Luckily the news was nothing too major (I was honestly expecting a release date to be announced) just the announcement of the pandarian’s racial mounts and the introduction of another gold sink that is going to be in Mist of Pandaria, besides of the Jewel Crafter mounts.

Blizzard has announced the racial mounts for Pandarians, the new mounts are going to be dragon turtles.

Huh, I thought that it was going to be yaks, it would be more fitting for a docile way of life. These mounts are pretty awesome, the design looks like these turtles are ready for the Alliance-Horde war.

My question for this is can my Draenei mage buy the mounts from a Pandaria quartermaster in the capital cities? or will these only be exclusively sold on the starter island?

The next bit of mount news is there some data miners have found another gold sink in Mist of Pandaria, the Mighty Grand Expedition Yak Mount.

And be the envy of my friends I shall be.
Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=NR0_rChqaP4Thanks to MMOChampion for this info. 

The appeal of this mount is on this yak has a reforging merchant as a passenger that lets you, or your raid, reforge your gear on the fly.

I don’t see the appeal of a reforger since, at least for me, I only reforge when I’m in the city buying gems and enchantments for my gear. It seems that high-end gear is too complex to be just be reforged.

This mount, although no official price for it but it seems to be going for the price of 60k gold.

You know what I say to that? chump change I have 91 thousand gold sitting on my mage and it’s looking for some justification to waste gold.

I would have more gold if I had the motivation.

Now the only problem I have is, “What over priced mount to buy first? The jeweled panthers or the Yak?”

While both have their pros and cons (I don’t use reforge that much, and the JC mounts are just reskins of existing cats)

I think that I am going to go for the epic yak mount first, since that is a fixed price, set by the NPC. and it could be brought down by a possible reputation discount, or at least the guild reward perk.

I’ll try to build the JC mounts a bit later in the expansion, when the player market subsided from the inflation of new good entering the market.

I learned that lesson the hard way when I was to make the Sandstone Drake back in January of last year and I was wounded up buying truegold for a little over 1k gold and the potions for hundreds on the AH.

Although that was during a time when I was in between guilds so I did not have the luxury of calling on an alchemy  guildie to buy the potions from at wholesale prices.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the lead up to the next World of Warcraft expansion with my own reflections about the last dying moments of the Catalysm’s Twilight Hour as we look into the Mist of the new day. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#70 Mount Catch up

  1. aqusinna

    OMFG I gotta get a Yak!

    Our country reeks of trees, Our yaks are really large, And they smell like rotting beefcarcasses! And we have to clean up after them, And our saddle sores are the best, We proudly wear women’s clothing and searing sand blows up our skirts!

    And the buzzards, they soar oooo-verhead And poisonous snakes will devooooour us whole And our bones will bleach in the sun!
    And we will probably go to h(fart)ll And that is our great reward For being the uh-Rooooyal… Canadian Kilted Yaksmen!

    Our country reeks of trees, Our yaks are really large, And they smell like rotting beef carcasses! And we have to clean up after them, And our saddle sores are the best, We proudly wear women’s clothing and searing sand blows up our skirts!

    And the buzzards they soar oooo-verhead, And poisonous snakes will devooooour us whole, Our bones will bleach in the sun! And we will probably go to h(fart)ll And that is our great reward, For being the uh-Rooooyal… Canadian Kilted Yaksmeeeeeeeeeen!

Leave a Reply

