#55 Questing though Pandaria + Bonus Blog post

This weekend I was able quest through a good part of the Jade Forest on my mage in the beta. As much I would have liked writing about everything I did, there was just too much content to comment on in one post.

It would seem that I have missed the boat on my ‘First Impression’ post, since everyone and their dog has voiced their first impression of the expansion about a month ago, hell even my chicken has beaten me to the punch.

Instead of writing about my thoughts on the expansion on the whole, I’m going to talk about the quest experience of the first zone and of the expansion (without spoiling too much of the lore today).

One of the great accomplishments that Blizzard always fulfills every expansion is  raising of the bar with questing experience. Cataclysm had special phased encounters that would let you see major cut scenes and  effect a major part of the zone, but the drawback was that you had to look away or look at a certain direction while the game changed the setting.

Mist of Pandaria stepped up the phasing again where there are personalized scenes that happen without it’s own instance. Making the MMO more personal, now instead of reading that you are the best in the area now you are seeing the characters (NPC) react to my presence/work’s results.

An example of this I was in the Jade Forest  going around the crash site, there was quest NPCs that would speak pieces of dialogue whenever you walk by and there has been times when you turn in a quest that triggers NPCs to appear and set up pieces of dialogue without phasing every other player away.

A shop keeper of fine lug nuts talking to me personally.

It seems that Blizzard is heading to the idea that even if it’s a MMO, the questing experience willd have a focus on your personal journeies and adventures into a new area. We are not quite there yet but in a few expansions we see World of Warcraft MMO with personal story lines.

******BONUS MATERIAL*******

Be MOP #55.5

Last week a new game went live called Super Monday Night Combat and for those who do not know Super Monday Night Combat is a sequel to Monday Night Combat, a third person shooter Dota style game.

Today I’m in a good mood, I want to tell you a little story about this game and our chicken. A few months ago I wrote about The Chicken Rule and I mentioned about this game,  today if you are interested I have found a whole bunch of blog posts that tells the story of Chickey Cantor:

The first mention of Chickey is on my mother’s blog found HERE, with a follow-up blog post (with full story of how Griffin, my younger brother, contacted the people of Uber Entertainment)  HERE

Chickey’s first in-game mention was in UberEntertainment’s Valentine music video, and made her first appearance in-game in the Uncle Tully’s Funland map.

Last year I was able to get my brother one the best High School graduation gift he has ever gotten

Full story about this picture is right HERE

Because I did not have a giveaway last week, I’m going to give away some codes for Super Monday Night Combat that I picked up when I went to PAX, I have 6 codes for five characters: Harl, Cheston, Veteran, Assassin, and Support all with PAX skins.

I have a Cheston, a Support, Assassin, Veteran and two Harl codes

I intend to give away all of them today, but this is a bit different, in order to win, leave a comment below ranking which codes you want in order, and as I pick the winners I will hand out the first winner’s first pick and go from there.

Super Monday Night Combat is a free to play game and can be found on the Steam store.

**EDIT** Giveaway ends 4/24 11:59pm EST


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the lead up to the next World of Warcraft expansion with my own reflections about the last dying moments of the Catalysm’s Twilight Hour as we look into the Mist of the new day. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “#55 Questing though Pandaria + Bonus Blog post

  1. elitegear1

    Harl, Cheston, Veteran, Assassin, and Support

  2. aqusinna

    I have no clue what Super Monday Night Combat is…well not quite true but lets pretend that thats the case.

    First impressions on MoP:

    I refuse to quest, I have enough troubles doing the quests a first time let alone doing then a second. I did however go thru the first two bosses in the first dungeon, and I have to say I am excited about the new tank design.

    Every pull was an AOE nuke, it was like being back in wrath all over! All the tank (Guardian Druid) attacks are free, so you charge in and go crazy! Rage is now a mitigation tool, gota choose between Dodge ( SD), Heals (FR) and damage (Maul)

    The highlight of my night was pulling about 50 mobs, dropping a Vortex and casting typhon to blow all the mobs into said vortex. I then sat down and let the DPS do there thing.

    The Ideas behind the changes are cool, will be interesting to see where it goes!

    Assassin, Veteran, Harl, Cheston, and Support

  3. Arisnova

    I don’t even remember how I got here, that was the craziest maze of hyperlinks. I think it’s hilarious how the Chickey Cantor story has spread and become such a huge thing; I don’t think anyone was expecting that…

    Oh yeah: Assassin, Veteran, Cheston, Support, Harl

  4. Harl, Cheston, Veteran, Assassin, and Support. hope i win

Leave a Reply

