#12 The time I traded the chance to see Emma Watson for a virtual dragon.

So congratulations are in order for this website, it has been one month since the birth of Be MOP!

As a treat for my readers, I am going to regale you with one of my both best *and* worst WoW stories.  Few of my friends have ever heard this story, so consider yourselves honored. I am, of course, talking about the time I gave up the chance to see Emma Watson, the actress who played Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter movies and my teenage movie crush, for a Twilight Drake in Wardraft’s Obsidian Sanctum.

 

Last year I was a member of my college’s Student Government Association and every semester the whole student government takes an off-campus weekend trip somewhere to participate in intense team-building exercises to form connections with each other, and to set up our big student government plans for the coming year. For this particular weekend escape the group had decided to have their team building event in Providence, Rhoad Island. The same city that is home to Brown University, where Emma Watson was currently studying. I was the first person in the Student Government that made that connection and I could not contain my joy.In a non-stalker kind of way, I did not care how big the city was, I did not care if Emma Watson would even be on campus during the weekend, I was going to near where she had been. In my eyes there was even a slim chance that I could run into Emma Watson. I hung on to that improbable chance as I packed my Doctor Who T-shirt (because if you are going to try to meet a person from a successful British franchise, you’d better be wearing a T-shirt from an equally successful British franchise.)

I knew buying this shirt at ThinkGeek would come in handy...

We got to our hotel, met our inspirational team builder and the first day was jam-packed with long-term plannings and trust falls.

The second day rolled around, we all got up at 9am and we and did team building exercises all day until late in the evening. Once it was over,  we retreated, tired, into our rooms, with no real plans for the night.

Once I got into my room I booted up my laptop and started going through my emails and the day’s news. When my roommate entered, he started talking about how he knew some friends in the area, and invited me to go to a college party they were all going too.

I declined the offer since I don’t typically go to those events, because my mom raised me fine and proper (and why yes, my mom is a regular reader of my blog, how did you guess?)

My roommate left to have a night on the town while I booted up World of Warcraft on my computer and while I was in Dalaran (this was late in the Wrath expansion) I saw a group forming for a 25 man Obsidian Sanctum with 3 drakes up. At this time I was still trying to achieve the mountain of mounts achievement, I offered my services to the group, hoping that I would be lucky enough to get one of the coolest looking dragons in the game, the Twilight Drake.

Online, we gathered all the players at the dragon’s liar, and after a few tries we succeeded in downing the boss: Sartharion. Ah, sweet success, it was time to distribute the loot.  The gear pieces and satchel of gems were all handed out, and now was the time to distribute the very rare Twilight Drake. I rolled for my chance to win the dragon, and I was greeted with a rare 99 (out of 100) roll, which won me that beautiful flying dragon.

I felt pretty good about myself, a group of us players had taken down a boss, and I was able to overcome a statistical challenge ( there was a slim 4% chance that one could win the dragon) and I was able to add another mount to my vast collection. It was the one of the best night’s of my life, until my roommate burst through the door.

He was all excited because he told me that while he was out with his friends he saw the one and only Emma Watson walking along the streets having fun with her friends…..

I don't always use memes to convey my emotions, but when I do it's because it is the PG version of I was actually thinking.

That was probably the only time I was ever going to be able to see one of my favorite celebrities and where was I? In my hotel room playing a video game trying to take down a video bad guy, while my roommate, who wasn’t even that much of a Harry Potter fan, had the unbelievable luck of seeing that one person in the entire city.

Even now, I still think that of that day.  There are times where I bring out my mount and think about that time when I gave up my chance to see one of the biggest movie stars of our generation to instead join a quest to defeat a boss. I think fate felt so bad for me that night it gave me my Twilight Drake out of pure pity.

There are times when I ask myself, "was it worth it?"

Be MOP focuses on the lead up to the next World of Warcraft expansion with my own reflections about the last dying moments of the Catalysm’s Twilight Hour as we look into the Mist of the new day. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “#12 The time I traded the chance to see Emma Watson for a virtual dragon.

  1. Not sure I can post pictures so here is a link:

    Emma Watson is defenatly note worthy material now, not simply to be considered a teenage crush!

    (Sorry Mom but you gotta admit she is a good looking girl!)

  2. [img]http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-JS7YmPiKhvk/TiEequs0RvI/AAAAAAAAACU/ig6f7RkXiRw/s1600/Emma%20Watson%20Hot%20Nice%20Photos.jpg[/img]

    Just trying HTML tags to see if it shows the img

  3. I met Jessica Alba back in the days when she was Doing the Dark Angel series.

    It was in Austin TX, I was out for a night of heavy Martiini drinking and I ran into he in one of there many bars on 6th street. Shortly after seeing her I fell onto one of the fake trees in the bar knocking it over getting me kicked out and making any chance of me actually talking to her go out the window.

  4. Pingback: #175 Be MOP’s Crazier Search Engine Terms | Be MOP

  5. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning
    this site. I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site now ;)

  6. Pingback: #362 The Liebster Award | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

